For the Love of Music

Music isn’t just music. Music is the worldwide common language.

Music is the portrayal of emotion through the use of melody.

Music is a form of compassion, love, and hard work. Like life itself, music is a beautiful thing.

About 12 years ago, I was introduced to the piano. As a young child, I didn’t really understand the concept of music, or how it was made, but I wanted to be apart of it from the very beginning. I remember every day before school, we all had to wait in the gymnasium (we had a very small school). My gym teacher would play classical music on her radio, to keep us silly kids somewhat calm. To the other kids, it was just noise. It was obnoxious, and it was a form of society trying to hold us back. (Ok, too much, I’m sure at seven years old we didn’t think of classical music as punishment by society, but you get what I mean). To me, however, it was the most beautiful thing in the world. I often found myself closing my eyes, tuning out the childish chaos that surrounded me, and swaying to the lovely sound of the music. I would relax, with a smile on my face, and dream about being the person to produce that wonderful sound. Putting myself in their position in my mind, envisioning myself playing the piano, and giving that same feeling to the ones who were listening to me.

Claire de lune, by Debussy. That was the first classical song I ever listened to in the gymnasium. I ran to my teacher, begging for the title of the work. With laughter, she told me, then told me to sit down.

Music has a very distinct effect on my emotion. Actually, it has a very strong effect. Sometimes I wish it didn’t, but I can’t exactly control it. I guess we all have that one thing. One minute I will be dancing around my apartment to the Neon Trees, and the next minute I will be sitting still with a tear in my eye while listening to Tchaikovsky. I don’t understand it, and I don’t want to. I love it.

Music is everywhere, in everything. You just have to open your ears, and your heart.

Leave a Reply

